top of page

Two Poems By Paul Hostovsky


( artwork by Naomi)


Practice

You can’t even let go

of the blue casserole dish--

how in the world

are you going to let go

of the world? I ask myself,

standing in my kitchen

in the late afternoon sunlight

which is turning everything to gold.

Everything, that is, except the blue

casserole dish, which isn’t here

because my stepdaughter borrowed it

without asking me.

And it pisses me off because

I love that casserole dish.

Because it belonged to my mother.

Let it go, I tell myself, or maybe

that’s my mother telling me,

because she had so little time herself

to practice letting go, suddenly

finding herself on the gurney

in Emergency, apologising

to all the nurses: “I’m sorry.

I’m not very good at this.” As if

“this” were something one could

get good at, if one practiced

letting go a little at a time,

practiced dying a little at a time,

practiced turning to gold a little at a time.




Overcast

It’s the almost that I love

about a gray day

like today. In weather

like this, I almost

feel a kind of joy:

the heavy sky, the feeling

in the air of imminent release.

I feel like I could almost

cry. Cry as I haven’t

since I was a boy.

Because I haven’t let myself.

The overcast sky says almost.

The charged air says could.

You could do this.

You could let yourself go,

feel the thunderous sobs,

wave after wave, shoulders

heaving, lungs emptying

in that jagged way

that almost looks like

laughter. And the hiccuping

like a child that comes after.

It could feel so good,

says this feeling in the air.

Almost like joy, says the sky.



-Paul Hostovsky

Paul Hostovsky's poems have won a Pushcart Prize and two Best of the Net Awards. His latest book of poems is PITCHING FOR THE APOSTATES (Kelsay, 2023). He makes his living in Boston as a sign language interpreter. Website: paulhostovsky.com



Comments


bottom of page