top of page

Read Guadalupe Miranda's "Lighthouse In The Distance" - A poem

( artwork by Luana Góes @luana.g.m )



You have tethered me

In a dream

a dark tale–

you’ve cast me by the sea

a lighthouse.

You've stolen its light

so no one will find me

you have tethered me to you

without even realising,

you have tethered me to you.

In the absence of your warmth

I am cold

pleading for the wind to carry a blanket to me

but it's been years

and I have grown numb

accustomed to the bitterness,

hiding

between the thin sheets

I don’t know anything but this.

I've grown up now, afraid

of what comes next

I wish I could run to you

/and run in the opposite direction too/

but you have tethered me to you,

all I do is run in circles

you have created an entire solar system in our home

Me and you.

you are the center,

the light I must turn to because–

You are mother,

the one who’s given me everything but

the one thing I hungered for

the one thing I still hunger for.

You've tethered me -

tied a sailors knot between our souls

a little birdy needing to be fed by its mother

mouth to mouth

regurgitating what a mother thinks to know best

untether me

and you'll see the damage you’ve caused

my limbs are useless against the currents.

You’ve kept your little birdy in the cage too long

free me and watch,

as I fall

my wings whole and full of possible flight

I'm scared mother

hold me, hold me

but let me go.

Let me fall away into the wind.

Comments


bottom of page