top of page

Epiphany - A poem by Broken Montague


I looked at the moon, but it was empty.

With the stars beside it, I counted twenty.

That was how many times I groundlessly fell.

But today, I courageously stood tall.

The night hid behind the silhouette of my broken heart.

But the moonlight slipped through its cracks.

Just like those memories that I keep on abandoning,

Its scars always remind me of how I lost myself on the track.


You looked at me, but I was empty.

I looked back at you expressionlessly.

But yes, you smiled

And gave me your whole world, undoubtedly.

Now, I wasn’t alone anymore, deep in my thoughts.

You and I together, sharing the love we both caught.

Though the cracks were still unforgiven,

The smiles I had, are now free again.

I looked at the moon, and it’s now overflowing.

The happiness it contains reflects how we keep on fighting.

With the stars beside it, in you, I found an epiphany.

Who loved not just me but also the past I can’t completely forget.


-Broken Montague

Broken Montague is an educator from the Philippines. As an amateur poet, he draws inspiration from his life experience. His broken past allows his emotions and his soul to fall from the pen. He is a dreamer and a believer in love, in all its wonderful forms, which is the primary concept of his poems.

Comments


bottom of page